In Dale's Words

Back to Blog Posts

Getting to Know...Janet Huff

What is your position/role at CFC? (what’s your title and quick summary of what you do)

Accountant - deposits, A/R, missions, other things financial.

How long have you been at CFC?

Almost 20 years

Family – married? Kids – names/ages?

Married to husband J.R. (for 22 years), 2 fabulous kids – Houston (20), Harley (18)

Favorite scripture passage?

My favorite scripture is Matthew 6:34, because worrying runs in my family, and I battle it daily.

If you’re not at church or home, where’s the next likely place to find you?  Favorite thing to do in your spare time?

When I’m not at work you will most likely find me at the barn.  We have Quarter horses that we show, and they require lots of attention.  After this summer you will most likely find me in Oklahoma, as both my kids will be there – one working, and one in school.  Go Pokes!

What consistently makes you laugh?

Before he moved to Oklahoma to pursue a horse training career, my son Houston consistently made me laugh – he’s just a funny guy.  I miss that.

If you weren’t in ministry (at CFC), what would you likely be doing (vocationally)?

I have a Cost Accounting degree, and used to work for a greeting card company, which I really enjoyed, so I’d probably be working for some manufacturing company.

Other than the Bible, what’s the best book you’ve read recently?

Who has time to read?  Just kidding – I used to love to read, but if I try to read now I’m asleep in about 2 minutes.

Favorite fruit and/or vegetable?

Strawberries, and I really have to choke down veggies, so no fave.

What is God teaching/revealing to you these days?

God is teaching me that I really don’t have control over my life, and that I really just need to give it to Him, because when I don’t I just end up being miserable.

Where were you born?  Where did you grow up?

I was born and raised in Berea, Ohio, a small college town suburb of Cleveland.

Favorite part about working at CFC?

I’m a part-timer, so I really love that my amazing boss lets me be super flexible with my hours.  I also love that we are one big family; I know I can count on my co-workers for anything.

Favorite TV show from your childhood?  Favorite TV show these days?

I would have to say that my favorite childhood TV show was Mister Ed, I’ve loved horses for a really long time.  These days I like to watch Fixer Upper, and Criminal Minds (when it’s not too gory).

Best advice you’ve ever received?

The best advice I’ve ever received was from my Dad when I wanted to go to college to get an Equestrian Studies degree, he suggested I also get an Accounting degree with it.  That was a smart move…

What are most looking forward to doing again in the spring/summer?

I really love flowers, so I’m looking forward to gardening this summer.  And not being cold.

Favorite candy bar/candy?

My favorite candy by far is M&M’s, but just about any chocolate will do.

What is your pet peeve?

Hmmm, so many pet peeves, but my biggest is probably when people don’t put their carts in the cart rack things at the grocery store.  When I was little my Mom would park far away from the store to not get door dings, and we would take the cart ALL the way back to the store, can you imagine?

What are 3 adjectives people might use to describe you?

Hard working, sarcastic, loyal

What music/artist/song are you listening to these days?

The music I listen to is whatever is on Christian, or Country in my car.  I do a lot of station hopping.

If you knew they’d accept your invitation, who would you love to have a cup of coffee with?

Well, I don’t drink coffee, but I’d love to meet Joanna Gaines; what a fun, successful, down to earth, Christian woman.

Name two things on your bucket list

     I’ve never really had a bucket list, but I’d love to:

  • travel without a horse
  • achieve financial freedom